Skip to content

Pirates Sign McLouth

February 20, 2009
tags:
by

mclouth1

The Pirates have inked CF Nate McLouth to a 3 year $15.75 million contract in an effort to distract you from the impending 100 loss season.

Just kidding. But seriously, the Pirates did sign McLouth creating a new Pirates core. In previous years Pirate leadership was generally Jason Bay, Jack Wilson and insert third player here. Now, after a $41.75 million off-season spending spree, the new most recognizable Pirates players will be Nate McLouth, pitcher Paul Maholm and catcher Ryan Doumit.

What to make of all this? Well, it doesn’t mean the Buccos are going to win the NL Central or even that they’ll avoid another losing season but it does mean they have a center fielder, a catcher and one starting pitcher.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Derek B. permalink
    February 21, 2009 12:12 AM

    I like Nate, Paul and Ryan, and I’m glad we’ll be watching them play in Pirates uniforms for years to come. I’m not expecting a major turn-around this season, but I’m very optimistic about the Pirates. There is a lot of young talent in the organization now. Regardless, I’m looking forward to another summer of Pittsburgh baseball.

    Yes, there are Pirates fans. And yes, we’re very, very patient.

    • gunnr permalink*
      February 21, 2009 9:08 PM

      Hey thanks for the comment! Don’t get me wrong, I love the Pirates and would have to put Nate, Paul and Ryan up there with my favorite Pirates but it’s hard not to be jaded. I think you nailed the the yearly outlook on the Buccos: not expecting a turn-around but remain optimistic.

      I’m not too sure about the Pirates having a lot of young talent. I think we’re about two or three years away from having a good farm system and from having a possible .500 team. I think GM Huntington has had the best approach to rebuilding this organization since 1992 but like the last couple of GMs good intentions fade fast in the face of “win-now” expectations. That’s something I’ll save for a later post though.

Leave a Reply

